About the awards

Since 2014, the University of Calgary Teaching Awards have recognized and celebrated outstanding contributions to teaching and learning.

The awards recognize excellence in diverse learning contexts, by individuals and teams, and through curriculum design and educational leadership. A University of Calgary Teaching Award is a distinguished honour for members of our university community who, through their commitment and expertise, create deep and lasting learning experiences.

There are 13 award categories, some of which include group and individual awards and multiple awards. Please review the calls for nomination carefully before developing your nomination package. If you have questions regarding award categories and the calls for nominations, you can write tiawards@ucalgary.ca or go to one of several drop-in consultations and workshops scheduled throughout the fall semester. 

Calls for Nomination and Rubrics

Dates and deadlines

  • Call for nominations: September 22, 2017
  • Call for adjudicators: November 15, 2017 
  • Deadline for nomination packages: January 16, 2018 at 11:59 pm
  • Adjudication committee meetings: February 20 - 23, 2018
  • Celebration of Teaching: April 10, 2018